The caravan of love

Whenever I’m behind a slow caravan on the highway I think of hairy soap and thongs in the shower.

And not-enough-veggies noises in the next cubicle.

So I was not in a happy holiday frame of mind when I sat in my deck chair to taste the Grey Nomad Sauvignon Blanc 2010, left in the bottom of my esky by a ‘mate’.

It brought back memories of arriving at the Wallaroo Caravan Park on Boxing Day 1993 and helping my father-in-law put up the annexe.

I hammered 47 tent pegs into the limestone only for him to come along and pull them all out and hammer them back in again an inch to the south or an inch to the north.

You wouldn’t want to be anywhere else when it’s 43 degrees and the steel pegs are too hot to hold.

Sure, this $15 wine doesn’t taste much like Sauvignon Blanc and there’s a lack of acid to balance the sweetness, but that’s no bad thing – most Island Star owners were brought up on Blue Nun and lost their taste buds three laps of Australia ago.

This wine is best enjoyed with Cheezels in your deck chair at sunset while enjoying the entertainment – the new arrivals backing the ’78 Viscount into their powered site.

She says, “Straighten up ya silly bastard”. He yells, “Shut up will ya.”

Feel the serenity, grab the Vegemite glass and pour yourself another Grey Nomad Sauvignon Blanc.

Then wander over to the ablution block in your thongs for an early shower before all the noiseworks.

One thought on “The caravan of love

Leave a comment